Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Compete at Keene State College Invitational

Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Compete at Keene State College Invitational

KEENE, N.H. – Elms College men's freshman cross country runner Joshua Rolon (Chicopee, Mass.) completed his first 8-kilometer race and senior women's cross country runner Devon DeGrazia (Westport, Mass.) clocked a personal-best 22:02 in the women's 5-kilometer event during Saturday afternoon's Keene State College Invitational.

Keene State's Ryan Widzgowski won the men's race with a time of 26:36 and the host Owls won the team event with 24 points. Brandeis University (58), University of Southern Maine (68), Fitchburg State University (126), St. Anselm College (153), St. Michael's College (161), Franklin Pierce University (198), New England College (219), Southern Vermont College (244), Plymouth State College (246) and Green Mountain College (343) rounded out the 11 scoring teams in the invite.

Rolon clocked a time of 38:38 as Elms' lone male runner.

On the women's side, St. Michael's Chloe Boutelle won the women's 5-kilometer jaunt with a time of 18:44, while Brandeis won the team event with 52 points. Keene State (59), Wellesley College (68), St. Michael's (69), St. Anselm (151), Mount Holyoke College (153), New England (193), Fitchburg State (268), Green Mountain (282), St. Joseph's College (Maine) (288), Elms (320) and Plymouth State (334) followed.

DeGrazia's time of 22:02 was good enough for 49th overall in the field of 152 runners and also places her 10th on the program's top 10 list for any 5-kilometer course.

Senior Kerry Ashe (Springfield, Mass.) clinched a time of 24:51, sophomore Emma Bernard (Springfield, Mass.) followed with a 25:37, senior Gabrielle Calvanese (Agawam, Mass.) added a 26:44, and junior Emily Taylor (Ludlow, Mass.) finished in a time of 27:15 to round out the Blazers' lineup. Ashe, Bernard and Taylor each set personal bests in the race.

Elms is back in action on Saturday, October 12 at the James Earley Invitational hosted by Westfield State University.