Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Golf Takes Second at NECC Championships

Men's Golf Takes Second at NECC Championships

Chris Kendrick (@CKendrick86)

STOW, Mass.  – The Elms College men's golf team carded a 327 on the final day of action at the 2014 New England Collegiate Conference Championships to claim second overall on the team leaderboard at the Stow Country Club Sunday afternoon.

The Blazers finished with a combined team score of 638 over 36 holes of play. Sophomore Chris Miele (South Hadley, Mass.) posted a 155 across two rounds to finish tied for second on the individual leaderboard. Freshman Mike Fleury (West Springfield, Mass.) was one stroke back at 156 for a share of fourth overall. Senior Nick Smith (Enfield, Conn.) shot a 162 to finish at 11th, while junior Dan Olive (Jefferson Township, N.J.) was tied at 13th with a 165. Freshman Brian Cowles rounded out the Blazers golfers, taking a share of 18th place with a 177.

Miele and Fleury were named First Team All-Conference for their efforts during the tournament. Miele ears First Team honors for the second consecutive season, while Fleury takes home his first award.

Babson College won the event with a score of 623, earning an automatic trip to the NCAA Division III National Championships next spring. Trailing Elms was Newbury College (665), Daniel Webster College (675), Springfield College (726), Becker College (744), and Mitchell College (812).

The Blazers will return to the course at the ECAC Division III New England Championship next weekend.


2014 NECC Tournament Champions: Babson College

2014 NECC Coach of the Year: Jeff Page, Babson College

2014 NECC Sportsmanship Award: Babson College, Newbury College


2014 NECC Player of the Year: Ian Notkin, Babson College

2014 NECC Rookie of the Year: Ian Notkin, Babson College


First Team All-Conference

Clint Goodwin, Daniel Webster

Mike Fleury, Elms

Chris Miele, Elms

Kyle Alexander, Babson

Ian Notkin, Babson


Second Team All-Conference

Vijay Vasandani, Babson

Stephen Peltier, Newbury

Brandon Bonnet, Daniel Webster

Greg Allen, Springfield

Chris Maguire, Babson