Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s Golf Wins 2013 NECC Championship, Punches Ticket to NCAA Division III Championship

Men’s Golf Wins 2013 NECC Championship, Punches Ticket to NCAA Division III Championship

STOW, Mass. – Elms College senior Henry Fall (Harpswell, Maine) finished second overall with a combined score of 150 and senior Tyler Cudnik (Hampden, Mass.) and freshman Chris Miele (South Hadley, Mass.) tied for fifth overall as the Blazers shot a combined 641 over 36 holes to help the Blazers win the 2013 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) men's golf championship on Sunday afternoon at Wedgewood Pines Country Club.

The championship is the second in four seasons for the Blazers who also won the 2010 conference title and Elms has now punched its ticket to the program's first-ever NCAA Division III Championship which will be held on May 13-16, 2014 at Grandover Resort in Greensboro, N.C.

Fall and Babson College's Vijay Vasandani tied for the NECC Championship's lowest-ever round each shooting 69 on day one. Vasandani carded the low round on Sunday (78) as well and finished with a combined 147 to earn individual medalist honors and was named NECC Golfer of the Year.

Fall shot an 81 on day two and 150 for the 36 holes and becomes the first-ever NECC golfer to be named First Team All-NECC in each of his four years. Cudnik and Miele also earned first team all-conference honors after turning in two-day scores of 163 each to finish in a tie for second place overall.

Junior Nick Smith (Enfield, Conn.) was two strokes behind them (165) and garnered Second Team All-NECC honors while freshman Brian Benson (Agawam, Mass.) carded an 84 on day two for Elms.

Elms led the field of seven teams with a score of 641, followed by Babson (643) and Springfield College (665). Newbury College placed fourth with 685, Daniel Webster College and Becker College scored 707 to tie for fifth and Mitchell College notched a 770 to place seventh.

2013 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Awards
NECC Player of the Year: Vijay Vasandani, Babson – 69 – 78 --147
NECC Rookie of the Year: Clint Goodwin, Daniel Webster – 77 - 79 -- 156
NECC Team Sportsmanship Award: Babson College
NECC Coach of the Year: Karen Powell, Becker

First Team All-NECC
Vijay Vasandani, Babson College (69 - 78 -- 147)
Henry Fall, Elms College (69 - 81 -- 150)
Clint Goodwin, Daniel Webster College (77 - 79 -- 156)
Kyle DiFranco, Springfield College (74 - 83 -- 157)
Cameron D'Agostino, Newbury College (76 - 87 -- 163)
Tyler Cudnik, Elms College (82 - 81 -- 163)
Chris Miele, Elms College (83 - 80 -- 163)

Second Team All-NECC
Chris Maguire, Babson College (79 - 86 -- 165)
Nick Smith, Elms College (83 - 82 -- 165)
David Hashagen, Springfield College (81 – 84 -- 165)